Last Updated on (1-January-2023)
Whether you may think that tiktok is consuming your worthy time or you have privacy concerns, you can delete or deactivate your tiktok account. Here is how do you delete a tiktok account in 2023.
Deleting a tiktok account is a fairly easy process and you can do it in a few minutes but it still takes 30 days period before deleting your account permanently.
It means, that if you have deleted your account and you log back in within 30 days time period, you can reactivate your account.
Before you started reading how to delete a tiktok account, remember that all f your videos and messages in your inbox will also fade away. So if you want to keep your videos safe, make sure to backup the, before starting the deleting process.
How To Delete Tiktok Account 2023 – Complete process
There are 2 ways to delete a tiktok account. You can either do it on the web or through the tiktok app. In the below sections, I will share both.
How To Delete TikTok Account Permanently On Laptop 2023
You can also delete your TikTok account through the TikTok.com website.
- After logging in, hover over your profile picture in the top right corner, then click on Settings.
- If you’re not already on the “Manage account” screen, select it from the left sidebar.
- You can then click the “Delete” button under Account control and follow the process.
How Do You Delete A TikTok Account Via App2023
TikTok’s iOS and Android apps make it relatively simple to delete your account.
- Navigate to your profile, then tap the three lines in the upper right corner to access the “Settings and privacy” screen.
- Once there, select Manage account > Delete account.
- You can skip this question if you don’t want to answer it. Otherwise, you’ll be presented with some additional information and possibly a link to a support article pertaining to your selection.
- The app will ask you why you’re leaving TikTok, and you can choose an option or skip the question by pressing the button in the upper right corner.
- After that, it will ask you if you want to download your data before deleting your account, and you must acknowledge at the bottom that you want to proceed with the deletion.
- After deleting your account, you can recover it for up to 30 days.
- You’ll be given 30 days to reactivate your account if you change your mind, as well as a list of everything you’ll lose access to after deleting your account (including access to the videos you’ve posted).
- The “Continue” button will take you to an account verification screen.
- If you have a standard account, TikTok will send you a code that you must enter, or you will be asked to sign in with the service that you used to create your account (such as Apple, Google, etc.).
- After you’ve verified your identity, tap the “Delete account” button and confirm your decision one more time to delete your account. The app will refresh and return you to the login screen.
How To Backup Your Data On Tiktok
Go to your profile > Settings and privacy > Privacy > Download your data in the TikTok mobile app.
When your file is finished, it will appear on the “Download your data” screen in the Download data tab. TikTok warns that it may take a few days for your data to be available for download, so you should wait before deleting your account.
The file you receive may contain data such as your profile information, video and comment history, and settings information — but not your videos.
If you want to keep them, you’ll have to manually download them.
To save one of your TikToks to your phone, follow these steps:
- Go to your profile and choose the video you want to save.
- Select “Save video” from the “…” menu.